Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

some questions regarding refurbishing a helmet

Article about: by Schwerpunkt You want to fool collectors but it's not your intention ? Which is it. Anyway nice goal you have set yourself there , I'll make a mental note to myself and my friends not to a

Default some questions regarding refurbishing a helmet

hi guys, i have a nice ET68 helmet that was used and repainted by a reenactor. it has a poor heer decal on it and i want to refurbish it and age it for my own reenacting use. i have never done this before but i have an idea of what i am supposed to do. i want to make it as real as possible so here are a few questions i have:

1. I want to make it a single decal SS helmet. Do any of you have an ET single decal SS helmet that i could see pictures of so I know what shade of paint I should use? i know that there were variants but like i said, i want it to be as close as possible to the real thing : )

2. what maker/style/pattern decal should i use on an ET M40 SS helmet?

3. what should the liner band be made of to be period correct? i know that there were zinc and aluminum types but i really dont know which ones go in what helmets.

4. lastly, do any of you know of a website with the best reproduction decals, paints, and liners available? i want this helmet to be able to fool collectors (although that is definately NOT my intention). i just want to make this my little project because frankly, i have nothing to do until school starts for me in august!

thanks a lot guys, ill be sure to post photos as soon as im finished!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement some questions regarding refurbishing a helmet
    P
    Many

Default Re: some questions regarding refurbishing a helmet

hmmm no replies on this one lol...

buy the book,"SS STEEL" by Kelly Hicks,,all your questions will be answered there,,,,paint,decals,etc,,,